History of Provincial Grand Lodge
The Province of Cambridgeshire celebrated its bicentenary in 1996. The first Provincial Grand Master Lord Eardley, was appointed in1796 and held office until his death in 1824. In all, fifteen Brethren have been elevated to the position of Provincial Grand Master; the present incumbent, William Charles Mason Dastur was installed in 2015 by the Deputy Grand Master, R.W. Bro. Jonathan Spence.
The history of the Province is recorded in 'Cambridgeshire Encompassed' by J.M. Whitehead, prepared for the bicentenary. Some copies are still available from Freemasons' Hall, Bateman Street, Cambridge.
The Province is a small one as far as numbers are concerned, with 30 Lodges and 14 Royal Arch Chapters but, being small, it has the advantage that the Provincial Grand Master and his Deputy are familiar visitors to all the Lodges.
We take pride in what may be a unique phenomenon; the ruling Masters of the Lodges of the Province are invited to all Installation meetings in the Province during their year of office. The band, affectionately referred to as 'The Circuit', serve to support the Provincial Grand Master and his Deputy and the Provincial Grand Wardens. The Provincial Grand Sword Bearer and the Provincial Grand Director of Ceremonies or his Deputy are also regular visitors to Installations in their official capacities as escorts to the PGM and the DepPGM.